Sample Heading

Sample Heading

Best Institute Award

Primary tabs


Shri Harish Rawat, Union Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Processing Industries and Parliamentary Affairs, Dr Charan Das Mahant, Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries, Dr S Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR and Senior Officials of the Government of India, State Governments and ICAR participated in the  Ceremony.


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is an apex body for coordinating, guiding and managing research and education in agriculture including horticulture, fisheries and animal sciences in the country. With 49 research institutes, 11 project directorates, 30 national research centres, 41 state agricultural universities and 1 central agricultural university, it is one of the largest agricultural research systems in the world. In order to recognize the outstanding performance in agriculture, research and education and to promote a sense of partnership, competition, pride and belonging in the mind of the staff, the ICAR has instituted the Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award. Three Awards, one each for Large Institute, Small ICAR Institute and to State Agricultural University/Deemed University, are awarded annually for the best performance in the agricultural research and education in the preceding ten years. Each Award consists of a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh, citation and a shield. The award has been named after Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (1875-1950), the first Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister of India.
The Jawaharlal Nehru Award for Outstanding Post-graduate Agricultural Research 2007 is awarded to Dr. E Sreenivasa Rao in Horticulture.  He studied genetics and inheritance pattern of resistance to early blight in cultivated tomato.  He developed RAPD markers for early blight resistance and studied heterosis, combining ability and gene action for yield and related traits under the guidance of Dr. A.D. Munshi, Senior Scientist, Division of Vegetable Science, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.
Dr.R.D.Rawal, Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Plant Pathology was awarded Dr.M.H.Marigowda National Award for Excellence in Horticultural Research on 8th April 2004.

Team Award for the year  2003-04 was awarded to Shri. S.C.Mandhar, Dr. G.Senthil Kumaran and Mrs. A.Carolin Rathina Kumari by The Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers, New Delhi for the Development of Nursery Machinery.